HICKORY – Hickory Motor Speedway opened its 66th season Saturday with the running of the Cosmo Motors Spring Classic, according to a press release from HMS. 

The NASCAR Whelen All American Series Bojangles Late Models ran twin 50-lap features.

Ryan Millington (76) started from the pole, but Cole Glasson (5) wasn’t far behind starting second.

Charlie Watson (9) and Jake Ruggles (29) made up the second row for the start. Millington took an early lead. Glasson and Watson both challenged for the win, but Millington proved to be too strong and took the POW-MIA Freedom Car to Victory Lane, according to the release.

Watson finished second, and Glasson finished third. Andrew Garcia (12) finished fourth and Ruggles finished fifth.

Subhed: Cosmo Motors Street Stocks

Kevin Eby (3) led the field to green with Cody DeMarmels (18) to his outside. Eby jumped to an early lead but DeMarmels stayed within striking distance. Eby finally nosed ahead and took the checkered flag for the win, according to the release.

DeMarmels finished second, and Whitten finished third. Eric Evans (7) finished fourth and Marshall Sutton (64) finished fifth.

Subhed: Paramount Auto Group Limited Late Models

The Limited Laet Models race kicked off round one of the Paramount Kia Challenge, according to the release.

Jeremy Pelfrey (51) started from the pole with Mitch Walker (29) to his outside. Dillon Houser (11) and Matt Elledge (99) made up the second row for the start.

Pelfrey grabbed an early lead with Walker close in tow. The battle waged behind the front duo as Houser and Elledge mixed it up with Monty Cox (21), Pat Rachels (34) and Alex Reece (18), according to the release.

Pelfrey won and continued his 2016 hot streak where he won most races in the Paramount Auto Group Limited Late Models. Walker finished second, and Rachels finished third. Reece finished fourth, and Cox finished fifth.

Subhed: Super Trucks

2015 Super Trucks champion Tyler Dayton (36) led the field victory, and Joey Shuryan (30) was to his outside, according to the release.

Dayton would jump to the point with the battle for second raging between Shuryan, 2016 Super Trucks champ Sheflon Clay (15), Charlie Neill (26) and Allen Huffman (51), according to the release.

Dayton took his first win of 2017. Clay finished second, and Huffman finished third. Neill, in his first Super Trucks start, finished fourth, and Shuryan finished fifth.

Subhed: Renegades

The 20-lap feature highlighted Danny Crump Jr. (97), who led the field to the green flag and jumped to the early lead, according to the release.

David Hasson (83) and Kyle DiVanna (71) battled throughout the race. Late in the race, the caution flew after Ben Campbell’s (69) run ended due to mechanical problems.

As the leaders took the green flag, Crump would be black flagged for jumping the restart.

Even though Crump did not acknowledge the black flag and continued on the track, he would no longer be scored and this would leave the race to be settled by Hasson and DiVanna.

The pair made contact and spun together across the line to the checkered flag.

Hasson took the win and narrowly beat DiVanna.

DiVanna finished second, and his dad Robert DiVanna finished third.

Subhed: NASCAR Whelen All American Series Bojangles Late Models, Second

An eight-car invert of the first race finishers put Omar Jurado (15) on the pole with Kyle Mansch (71) to his outside, according to the release.

Ty Gibbs (18) and Jake Ruggles (29) made up the second row at the start.

As the cars rolled through Turn 4, Ruggles’ car pulled out of line and move toward the back with mechanical issues causing the yellow flag.

Before the field would make it back around, Mansch’s car joined Ruggles’ car on pit road, according to the release.

The field attempted another start with Jurado leading, Gibbs to his outside, and Andrew Garcia (12) and Cole Glasson (5) making up the second row.

Gibbs moved to the lead until Glasson worked his way around him. Glasson paced the field till late in the race when the R.D. Smith (16) closed in and battled with the leader, according to the release.

Smith prevailed and won by half a car length. Glasson posted his best Hickory Motor Speedway finish with second place, and with Ryan Millington (76) finished third after starting toward the back. Tal Davidson (77) finished fourth and Charlie Watson (9) finished fifth.

Subhed: Coming up

Racing returns to Hickory Motor Speedway next Saturday night with twin 40-lap features for the NASCAR Whelen All American Series Bojangles Late Models, 35 laps for the Paramount Auto Group Limited Late Models, 30 laps for the Cosmo Motors Street Stocks, 25 laps for the 4 Cylinders, and 25 laps for the vintage Classic Sportsman Racing Association, according to the release.

Gates open at 5:15 p.m., and qualifying starts at 5:30 p.m. Autograph session begins at 6:30 p.m., and racing begins at 7:30 p.m.

For more information, visit www.hickorymotorspeedway.com.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

Load comments