A three-member panel has selected from multiple applications seven students to receive memorial scholarships offered by the Drum-Wilkinson Educational Foundation. Recipients named are:

Alexis Jade Hall of Newton, daughter of Michelle Hall and an upcoming Newton-Conover High School 2019 graduate, has been named to receive the Dr. Elam A. Drum $650 Memorial Scholarship. From academics to beauty to sports, the list of honors, awards and recognitions received by Alexis are impressive. For example, she served a captain for both junior varsity and varsity volleyball while on the teams. She was selected most valuable player of the varsity team. Alexis was a homecoming representative for several years and also named homecoming queen one year. She was a junior marshal, student of the year in AP US history and Earth and environmental science and holds certifications in several different subjects. Alexis was active in various school organizations and was a volunteer hospital intern, SAT Tutoring Program representative and helped with a blood drive. She plans to major in nursing with a minor in psychology toward becoming a registered nurse and at some point in her life to establish an organization that helps children raised in poverty. Alexis plans to attend the University of North Carolina/Greensboro.

Matthew Preston Connor of Newton, son of Tracy and Julie Connor. He is also an upcoming graduate of Newton-Conover High School and he plans to attend North Carolina State University in Raleigh. Matthew was chief junior marshal and has received honor awards in calculus, Spanish, Earth science, English I and Spanish II. He served as an officer in the National Honors Society, Agriculture, Mu Alpha Theta, Beta Club and is a member of other clubs or organization. Matthew is a volunteer math tutor and as a volunteer has assisted several local charities in other capacities. He plans to study engineering and to be active in organizations that will help him gain additional experience and practical knowledge. He wants a career in which he will continuously be learning while improving the workforce with inventive technology. Matthew will receive the Denelta Coley Self $440 Memorial Scholarship.

Named to receive the Fleet and Inez Drum $325 Memorial Scholarship is Chase Porter Abernathy of Cherryville. A senior at Cherryville High School, Chase is the son of Robert K. Abernathy of Cherryville and Amy Porter Heavner of Crouse. He plans to attend Campbell University. Chase’s honors, awards and recognitions include chief junior marshal and honors in Earth and environmental science, world history, scientific and technical visualization, math, biology to name a few. He serves as senior class treasurer, was a homecoming representative and involved with Interact Club, Student Council. He is also active in his church and the community; has served as a math tutor, volunteer for various fundraisers and programs serving the less fortunate. Chase plans to major in pre-pharmacy to prepare for his goal to become a pharmacist.

Recipient of a $300 memorial scholarship given in memory of Josephine Drum Gilley and sisters Vera Mae Drum Arndt and Colleen Drum is Haley Naomi Danner-Rinehardt of Claremont. Daughter of John Devin Black and Ruby Gayle Rinehardt, this Bunker Hill High School senior plans to attend Appalachian State University in Boone to major in international business and minor in Spanish. Her goal is to be involved in international business. Haley has received a number of academic honors and certifications. She was a junior marshal and Beta Club member. A volunteer for various church and community fundraisers or outreach programs, she wants to continue be active in various organizations and internships, to travel and experience other cultures so as to contribute to others and the world around her.

Addyson Paige Ikard, a Maiden High School soon-to-be graduate, is from Maiden and is the daughter of Anthony Ikard of Lincolnton and Jennifer McRee Black of Maiden. Addyson plans to attend Lees McRae College in Banner Elk. She will be receiving DWEF’s Danny Ray Cox Christian Service Memorial Scholarship for $250. Addyson made all conference, all district and all state in softball. She is CPR certified and CNS 1 Certified. He has been involved in a variety of school organizations and activities as well as community outreach and mission with her church. She initiated two different community events to help others. She served in three different positions on the Student Council, was in the Beta Club and National Technical Honors Society, among other honors and achievements. She expects to enter either the field of nursing or education and to continue to be community-minded.

Anna Christine Eblen of Hickory, daughter of David and Ruth Eblen, is named to receive the Mark Anthony Kincaid $250 Memorial Scholarship from DWEF. A soon-to-be graduate of Fred T. Foard High School, Anna plans to attend NC State University in Raleigh to major in chemistry. She is interested in a career in research. In addition to being an honor roll member, Anna has received honors from her poetry, as a band member, in math and was a National Merit Scholarship Commended Student (non-finalist) selected by PSAT. She ran track and was a science olympiad. She has been dual enrolled in college while attending high school and has maintained a 4.0 GPA. Anna teaches a children’s Sunday school class, was a volunteer for her local special-needs prom. She hopes to stay involved in the arts. She enjoys gardening and travel.

The DWEF Wilkinson Memorial Scholarship for 2019 in the amount of $250 will be awarded to Zoe Elizabeth Huffman of Maiden. Daughter of Jonathan David and Judith Carolyn James Huffman, she will soon be graduating from Maiden High School. Zoe plans to attend the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. She plans to major in exercise science and minor in business. After college she plans to attend P.A. school and become a physician assistant. She has been very successful in high school academically and athletically. Zoe is an award winning tennis player, high scorer in basketball and art award recipient. She was active in five different high school clubs, a student council member from the ninth through 12th grades and was an officer the past two years. She expects to continue to do her best and serve others.

The scholarship selection committee for 2019 consisted of Larry Self, Amy Richards and Barbara Murray, all of Newton.

Since 2003, the Drum-Wilkinson Educational Foundation has awarded 82 scholarships totaling $39,895.00.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

Load comments