The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced its 2019 All-Academic teams and Scholar-Athletes, with Lenoir-Rhyne’s men's and women's tennis both receiving All-Academic honors and 12 individual players earning Scholar-Athlete distinctions. On the women's side, Sophia Aguilar Di Camillo , Marta Escanero Funes , Ally Garofoli Sanne Janssen and Iulia Ponomareva were selected as Scholar-Athletes. The men had Alex Ayguavives Hamed Gandouz , Josh Lazenby , Paul Lenz , Tales Miranda, Shane O'Dea and Lewis Scott earn Scholar-Athlete status. All-Academic teams boast a team GPA of 3.20 or higher. ITA scholar-athletes must meet the following criteria:

1.) Be a varsity letter winner.

2.) Have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year.

3.) Have been enrolled at their present school for at least two semesters (including freshman through senior year). The ITA is committed to serving college tennis and returning the leaders of tomorrow. As the governing body of college tennis, the ITA oversees men's and women's varsity tennis at NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and Junior/Community College divisions. The ITA administers a comprehensive awards and rankings program for men's and women's varsity players, coaches and teams in all divisions, providing recognition for their accomplishments on and off the court.

For more information on the ITA, visit the ITA website at .

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

Load comments