HICKORY – The NASCAR Whelen All-American Series regulars return to the track Saturday at Hickory Motor Speedway.

With a number of touring series making their annual visits over the past several months, Saturday is just the sixth time in the past 12 weeks the regular weekly divisions have been on the track.

The featured event Saturday is the Late Model Stock division with Twin 40-lappers, followed by the Limited Late Models (35 laps), Street Stocks (30), 4-Cylinders (25) and 25 laps for the Classic Sportsman division. Following the racing will be fireworks.

The Late Models will run its first 40-lap segment first, followed by the Classic Sportsman, Limited Late Model, Street Stocks, 4-Cylinders and the second 40-lap segment for the Late Models.

Gates open at 5:15 p.m. with racing starting at 7:30 p.m. and an autograph session at 6:40 p.m. for all divisions. Admission is $20 for a carload.

Out of the previous 17 events for the Late Models, 12 have been Twin 40-lappers.

Points leader Ryan Millington has won five of the Twin 40-lappers, while Charlie Watson – second in points – has won three. Josh Berry, Ty Gibbs, Austin McDaniel and Kres VanDyke have won one apiece.

There have been eight different winners this year in the Late Model division, with four different winners in the past four events: Berry, Gibbs, VanDyke and Justin Carroll. Carroll’s win was a 100-lap event.

Millington’s next win would give him eight on the season, the most in a single season since Berry won 10 in 2014.

Looking ahead

There are many special events on the calendar for the remainder for the year.

In September, the Bobby Isaac Memorial 150 laps event is scheduled and on September 30th, the Southern Modified Series makes a second visit.

In October, the Knights of Destruction makes a second visit on the 14th while the annual Fall Brawl – a 200 lap event for the Late Models – is scheduled for the 21st.

The Pro All Star Series (PASS) makes its second visit of the season Nov. 17-18 for the Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown 300. The 300-lap event will decide the national champion for the series and be the first 300-lap event at HMS since the NASCAR Busch Series (now the XFINITY Series) ran at HMS.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

Load comments