While the first votes in the 2019 municipal elections will not be cast for more than two months, it’s already clear that some new people will be entering government this year.

Ward 1 Hickory City Councilman Brad Lail declined to run for re-election. Three people will face off in the primary to replace him on Oct. 8: Carmen Eckard, Dustin Strickland and Tony Wood.

The Hickory Daily Record reached out to Lail to discuss his decision not to run for re-election, but he did not respond by press time.

There will also be primaries in the races for the Ward 2 and Ward 3 Hickory City Council seats. In Hickory’s Ward 2, Councilwoman Charlotte Williams will face Lou Wetmore and Ernie Masche. (Masche is a contractor taking sports photos for the Hickory Daily Record.)

Ward 3 Councilman Danny Seaver will face challengers Daria Jackson and Nathan Hefner.The top two finishers in each race will face one another in the Nov. 5 general election. City elections are nonpartisan. 

The City of Newton will have a new mayor this year. Mayor Anne Jordan did not file for re-election. Al Hoover, Eddie Haupt and Jeremy Petty are running for the position along with current Newton City Councilman John M. Stiver.

Newton also has the largest contest of any municipal election in Catawba County this year, with 10 candidates running for three seats on the Newton City Council.

Longtime Newton City Councilman Tom Rowe will not seek re-election. He was first elected to council in 1983, according to the City of Newton’s website.

“I just think it’s time to slow down a little,” Rowe said about his decision not to rerun for office. “I’ve enjoyed my time. Who knows, maybe I’ll run again in a few years.”

The HDR reached out to Jordan to discuss her decision not to run for re-election, but she did not respond by press time.

Longtime Maiden Mayor Bob Smyre retired from his position on June 30. Max Bumgarner Jr., who is currently serving as mayor pro-tem, and Zane Hudson are running for the position.

There will also be competitive races for Conover City Council, Claremont City Council, Catawba Town Council, Maiden Town Council and Brookford Town Council.

The mayor of Catawba and three Long View Town Council seats are also up for election, but the races are not competitive.

The candidates who filed for office include:

City of Hickory (Three council seats-Wards 1,2 and 3)

Dustin Strickland (Ward 1)

Carmen Eckard (Ward 1)

Tony Wood (Ward 1)

Charlotte Williams (Ward 2, incumbent)

Ernie Masche (Ward 2)

Louis Wetmore (Ward 2)

Danny Seaver (Ward 3, incumbent)

Nathan Hefner (Ward 3)

Daria Jackson (Ward 3)

City of Newton (Mayor and three council seats)

Al Hoover (mayor)

John M. Stiver (mayor)

Jeremy Petty (mayor)

Eddie Haupt (mayor)

Jerry T. Hodge (council, incumbent)

Jody M. Dixon (council, incumbent)

Yerby Ray (council)

Rick Settlemyre (council)

Roy Johnson (council)

Beverly Danner Stull (council)

J. Mike Honeycutt (council)

Laddie H. Ford Jr. (council)

Mary Bess Lawing (council)

Addie Shuford (council)

City of Conover (Three council seats)

Kyle J. Hayman (incumbent)

Bruce R. Eckard (incumbent)

Don Beal (incumbent)

Brenda J. Powell (council)

Tim Settlemyre (council)

Timothy Garrison (council)

City of Claremont (Three council seats)

David B. Morrow (incumbent, council)

M. Dale Sherrill (incumbent, council)

David J. Pruitt (council)

Chris Reese (council)

Lee Miller (council)

Town of Catawba (Mayor and two council seats)

Donald “Duck” Robinson (mayor, incumbent)

Donald “Donnie” Allen (council, incumbent)

Colleen Anderson (council, incumbent)

Gilda Caputo-Hansen (council)

Carroll Young (council)

Amanda Drum Stewart (council)

Town of Maiden (Mayor and three council seats)

Max Bumgarner Jr. (mayor)

Zane R. Hudson (mayor)

Ronnie K. Williams (incumbent, council)

Danny Lee Kiser (council)

Beth Poovey Rudisill (council)

Richard Fox (council)

Bob Sigmon (council)

Town of Long View (Three council seats- Wards 1,3 and 4)

Randall Mays (Ward 1, incumbent)

Thurman VanHorn (Ward 3, incumbent)

David Elder (Ward 4, incumbent)

Town of Brookford (Two council seats)

Bill McGregor (incumbent)

Sue Noblitt (incumbent)

Evelyn Fisher Yount (council)

Eric Biter (council)

Avery Schronce (council)

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Kevin Griffin is the City of Hickory reporter at the Hickory Daily Record.

Recommended for you

Load comments