Hickory Crawdads

The South Atlantic League released its 2020 schedule for all 14 teams on Thursday. The release included the 140-game schedule for the Hickory Crawdads, who will play their 28th season in the league beginning next April. The 2020 season will be the 12th year Hickory will be the affiliate of the Texas Rangers.

For the fifth straight year, the Crawdads will open with a weeklong road trip, starting on Thursday, April 9 at West Virginia. The 70-game home schedule will commence the following Thursday with a four-game series against the Lexington (Kentucky) Legends. The Legends will be a familiar opponent for Hickory in 2020, as the two squads will play each other 21 times, 14 of those in Kentucky.

Overall, the Crawdads will play 77 games against their Northern Division rivals and 63 against the Southern Division, with 21 of those coming against Lexington. Eleven of the other 13 league clubs are scheduled to play at Hickory with Asheville and Greenville (South Carolina) missing the trip to L.P. Frans Stadium in 2020. The Crawdads will play a three-game series at in-state rival Asheville July 24-26. Hickory will see its other two in-state rivals Greensboro and Kannapolis for 27 games, including 14 at home.

The Crawdads will see the Atlanta Braves affiliate from Rome (Georgia) at Hickory for the first time in two seasons with a series Aug. 17-19. They will also make their first trip to Rome since 2016.

The Crawdads are scheduled to play home games on Memorial Day, which is May 25; Father’s Day, which is June 20; and Labor Day, Sept. 7, the finale of the season. The team will be on the road for Independence Day at Columbia, South Carolina.

Here's a look at the Crawdads' full schedule for 2020:

 

HICKORY CRAWDADS 2020 SCHEDULE

Day | Date | Opponent

Thursday | April 9 | at West Virginia

Friday | April 10 | at West Virginia

Saturday | April 11 | at West Virginia

Sunday | April 12 | at West Virginia

Monday | April 13 | at Charleston, S.C.

Tuesday | April 14 | at Charleston, S.C.

Wednesday | April 15 | at Charleston, S.C.

Thursday | April 16 | Lexington, Ky.

Friday | April 17 | Lexington, Ky.

Saturday | April 18 | Lexington, Ky.

Sunday | April 19 | Lexington, Ky.

Monday | April 20 | Columbia, S.C.

Tuesday | April 21 | Columbia, S.C.

Wednesday | April 22 | Columbia, S.C.

Thursday | April 23 | at Delmarva, Md.

Friday | April 24 | at Delmarva, Md.

Saturday | April 25 | at Delmarva, Md.

Sunday | April 26 | at Delmarva, Md.

Monday | April 27 | Charleston, S.C.

Tuesday | April 28 | Charleston, S.C.

Wednesday | April 29 | Charleston, S.C.

Thursday | April 30 | Augusta, Ga.

Friday | May 1 | Augusta, Ga.

Saturday | May 2 | Augusta, Ga.

Sunday | May 3 | Augusta, Ga.

Tuesday | May 5 | at Lexington, Ky.

Wednesday | May 6 | at Lexington, Ky.

Thursday | May 7 | at Lexington, Ky.

Friday | May 8 | at Rome, Ga.

Saturday | May 9 | at Rome, Ga.

Sunday | May 10 | at Rome, Ga.

Tuesday | May 12 | Delmarva, Md.

Wednesday | May 13 | Delmarva, Md.

Thursday | May 14 | Delmarva, Md.

Friday | May 15 | West Virginia

Saturday | May 16 | West Virginia

Sunday | May 17 | West Virginia

Tuesday | May 19 | at Greensboro

Wednesday | May 20 | at Greensboro

Thursday | May 21 | at Greensboro

Friday | May 22 | at Kannapolis

Saturday | May 23 | at Kannapolis

Sunday | May 24 | at Kannapolis

Monday | May 25 | Augusta, Ga.

Tuesday | May 26 | Augusta, Ga.

Wednesday | May 27 | Augusta, Ga.

Thursday | May 28 | Augusta, Ga.

Friday | May 29 | at Lexington, Ky.

Saturday | May 30 | at Lexington, Ky.

Sunday | May 31 | at Lexington, Ky.

Monday | June 1 | at Lexington, Ky.

Tuesday | June 2 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Wednesday | June 3 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Thursday | June 4 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Friday | June 5 | West Virginia

Saturday | June 6 | West Virginia

Sunday | June 7 | West Virginia

Tuesday | June 9 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Wednesday | June 10 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Thursday | June 11 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Friday | June 12 | at Greensboro

Saturday | June 13 | at Greensboro

Sunday | June 14 | at Greensboro

Monday | June 15 | Lexington, Ky.

Tuesday | June 16 | Lexington, Ky.

Wednesday | June 17 | Lexington, Ky.

Thursday | June 18 | Delmarva, Md.

Friday | June 19 | Delmarva, Md.

Saturday | June 20 | Delmarva, Md.

Sunday | June 21 | Delmarva, Md.

Thursday | June 25 | at Charleston, S.C.

Friday | June 26 | at Charleston, S.C.

Saturday | June 27 | at Charleston, S.C.

Sunday | June 28 | West Virginia

Monday | June 29 | West Virginia

Tuesday | June 30 | West Virginia

Wednesday | July 1 | Kannapolis

Thursday | July 2 | Kannapolis

Friday | July 3 | Kannapolis

Saturday | July 4 | at Columbia, S.C.

Sunday | July 5 | at Columbia, S.C.

Monday | July 6 | at Columbia, S.C.

Tuesday | July 7 | at Columbia, S.C.

Wednesday | July 8 | Charleston, S.C.

Thursday | July 9 | Charleston, S.C.

Friday | July 10 | Charleston, S.C.

Saturday | July 11 | at Lexington, Ky.

Sunday | July 12 | at Lexington, Ky.

Monday | July 13 | at Lexington, Ky.

Tuesday | July 14 | at Lexington, Ky.

Thursday | July 16 | Lakewood, N.J.

Friday | July 17 | Lakewood, N.J.

Saturday | July 18 | Lakewood, N.J.

Sunday | July 19 | Lakewood, N.J.

Tuesday | July 21 | at Greenville, S.C.

Wednesday | July 22 | at Greenville, S.C.

Thursday | July 23 | at Greenville, S.C.

Friday | July 24 | at Asheville

Saturday | July 25 | at Asheville

Sunday | July 26 | at Asheville

Tuesday | July 28 | Greensboro

Wednesday | July 29 | Greensboro

Thursday | July 30 | Greensboro

Friday | July 31 | Lakewood, N.J.

Saturday | Aug. 1 | Lakewood, N.J.

Sunday | Aug. 2 | Lakewood, N.J.

Tuesday | Aug. 4 | at Greenville, S.C.

Wednesday | Aug. 5 | at Greenville, S.C.

Thursday | Aug. 6 | at Greenville, S.C.

Friday | Aug. 7 | Hagerstown, Md.

Saturday | Aug. 8 | Hagerstown, Md.

Sunday | Aug. 9 | Hagerstown, Md.

Monday | Aug. 10 | at Kannapolis

Tuesday | Aug. 11 | at Kannapolis

Wednesday | Aug. 12 | at Kannapolis

Thursday | Aug. 13 | at Kannapolis

Friday | Aug. 14 | at Lexington, Ky.

Saturday | Aug. 15 | at Lexington, Ky.

Sunday | Aug. 16 | at Lexington, Ky.

Monday | Aug. 17 | Rome, Ga.

Tuesday | Aug. 18 | Rome, Ga.

Wednesday | Aug. 9 | Rome, Ga.

Thursday | Aug. 20 | Kannapolis

Friday | Aug. 21 | Kannapolis

Saturday | Aug. 22 | Kannapolis

Sunday | Aug. 23 | Kannapolis

Monday | Aug. 24 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Tuesday | Aug. 25 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Wednesday | Aug. 26 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Thursday | Aug. 27 | at Hagerstown, Md.

Friday | Aug. 28 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Saturday | Aug. 29 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Sunday | Aug. 30 | at Lakewood, N.J.

Tuesday | Sept. 1 | Greensboro

Wednesday | Sept. 2 | Greensboro

Thursday | Sept. 3 | Greensboro

Friday | Sept. 4 | Greensboro

Saturday | Sept. 5 | Delmarva, Md.

Sunday | Sept. 6 | Delmarva, Md.

Monday | Sept. 7 | Delmarva, Md.

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Recommended for you

Load comments