ballot stock 2.jpg

The city of Hickory will be holding at least two primaries this election season.

Carmen Eckard filed for the Ward 1 seat on Tuesday, setting up a primary against Dustin Strickland and Tony Wood.

Hickory has primaries when more than two candidates run for a seat. The top two vote getters in the ward primary go on to compete in the general election.

There will also be a primary in Ward 3 this year. Councilman Danny Seaver, Daria Jackson and Nathan Hefner have all filed for the seat.

The Hickory primaries will be on Oct. 8 and the general election on Nov. 5.

Ward 2 Councilwoman Charlotte Williams is running but had no opposition as of 3 p.m. Tuesday.

Hickory is one of eight municipalities that will be having elections this fall. Filing for office ends at noon on Friday. The filing fee is $12 for Hickory offices and $5 for all other offices.

For more information call the Catawba County Board of Elections at 828-464-2424 or visit the board office at 25 Government Drive in Newton.

The following candidates have filed for office as of 3 p.m. Tuesday:

City of Hickory (Three council seats-Wards 1,2 and 3)

Dustin Strickland (Ward 1)

Tony Wood (Ward 1)

Carmen Eckard (Ward 1)

Charlotte Williams (Ward 2, incumbent)

Danny Seaver (Ward 3, incumbent)

Nathan Hefner (Ward 3)

Daria Jackson (Ward 3)

City of Newton (Mayor and three council seats)

Al Hoover (mayor)

John M. Stiver (mayor)

Jerry T. Hodge (council, incumbent)

Jody M. Dixon (council, incumbent)

Yerby Ray (council)

Rick Settlemyre (council)

Roy Johnson (council)

Beverly Danner Stull (council)

J. Mike Honeycutt (council)

Laddie H. Ford Jr. (council)

Mary Bess Lawing (council)

City of Conover (Three council seats)

Kyle J. Hayman (incumbent)

Bruce R. Eckard (incumbent)

Don Beal (incumbent)

Brenda J. Powell (council)

Tim Settlemyre (council)

City of Claremont (Three council seats)

David B. Morrow (council, incumbent)

M. Dale Sherrill (incumbent)

Chris Reese (council)

David J. Pruitt (council)

Town of Catawba (Mayor and two council seats)

Donald “Duck” Robinson (mayor, incumbent)

Donald “Donnie” Allen (council, incumbent)

Colleen Anderson (council, incumbent)

Amanda Drum Stewart (council)

Town of Maiden (Mayor and three council seats)

Max Bumgarner Jr. (mayor)

Zane R. Hudson (mayor)

Danny Lee Kiser (council)

Richard Fox (council)

Ronnie K. Williams (council)

Bob Sigmon (council)

Town of Long View (Three council seats- Wards 1,3 and 4)

Randall Mays (Ward 1, incumbent)

Thurman VanHorn (Ward 3, incumbent)

David Elder (Ward 4, incumbent)

Town of Brookford (Two council seats)

Bill McGregor (incumbent)

Sue Noblitt (incumbent)

Evelyn Fisher Yount (council)

Note: This story has been update to reflect the fact that there is no mayoral race in Claremont this year. 

Get today’s top stories right in your inbox. Sign up for our daily newsletter.

Kevin Griffin is the City of Hickory reporter at the Hickory Daily Record.

Hickory Daily Record city reporter Email:

Recommended for you

Load comments